Katie’s Famous Chick Pea Salad

This recipe was inspired by a similar from my good friend Katie.

2 Cans of chick peas
1 long English Cucumber
1 sweet Red Bell Pepper
½ sweet Red Onion
Fresh Parsley
Fresh Basil
Fresh Oregano

Rinse the canned chick peas to get rid of that nasty water that they are canned in. Drain well and throw on a large bowl. Dice the cucumber as small as you can. Do the same for the Pepper and Onion. Add to the bowl. Take the Parsley, Basil & Oregano and chop as fine as you desire. Throw in the bowl.

Dressing
1 part red wine vinegar
2 parts Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper to taste

I have taken this to several pot-luck BBQ’s and I took the dressing in a small jar and the salad part in a bowl. Then just before I served it I poured the dressing over the Salad; otherwise it gets too soggy. I think I had about 1cup of dressing for the amount of salad stated above. But adjust it to what you like.

One response to “Katie’s Famous Chick Pea Salad

  1. Hi Amira,

    Thanks for the Twitter follow! I make this and LOVE it. Sometimes I also add wheat berries. Or fresh parsley with dried mint in the summer, which are refreshing flavors with the cucumber. Very satisfying salad.

    Sandy

Leave a Reply

