Peach Sorbet

This is a very refreshing summer dessert. DH and I used peaches off our very own peach tree.

1 cup Water
½ cup Sugar
8 small Peaches (as ripe as possible)
Juice of one Lemon

Make simple syrup by boiling the sugar and water in a small pot. Let simmer for 5 minutes. Remove from heat and cool thoroughly. (This cooling step is important!) Wash and pit the peaches and cut in to chunks. Puree the peaches (skins and all) and lemon juice in a blender or food processor until liquidy. Should yield about 1 cup or more (Optional: if you want you can strain the peach liquid to remove and lumps or pieces of skin… but it is not necessary). Combine the peach mixture and the simple syrup and stir well. I add the syrup slowly and taste as I go along because I don’t like my sorbet too sweet. Put in an ice cream maker and follow the instructions or

Place bowl in freezer. After 1 hour break up ice that form and mix into liquid in the bowl. Continue breaking up the ice as it forms at regular intervals until the sorbet is frozen to the desired consistency. I usually make my sorbet the day before I want to serve it. If it is too hard when I want to serve it I simply leave it on the counter to soften up for 20 minutes.

This sorbet is really nice served in pretty glass bowls with a slice of fresh peach and a mint leaf.

Leave a Reply

