Quinoa Salad

In my effort to eat more healthy I have discovered Quinoa. It is a grain that you can use in a variety of ways. I often use it in place of rice with stir-fry or curry. However I changed it up this week when I cooked a big family dinner for my dad and made and awesome Quinoa Salad.

2 cups Quinoa – cooked and cooled
1/2 Red Bell pepper – diced finely
1/2 Long English cucumber – diced finely
1 tomato – diced finely
1/2 cup grated or chopped Feta Cheese
large handful of chopped parsley
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (or white wine vinegar)
3 Tbs Olive oil (this must be Extra Virgin)
2 tsp Italian herb blend (dried) or fresh basil, oregano and thyme
Salt and pepper to taste

My preferred method to cook quinoa is just like pasta. Fill a large pot with water and bring to a boil. Add quinoa and salt. Simmer until al-dente. Drain through a fine sieve.

Once cooked quinoa has cooled add all other ingredients and mix well. Chill in Fridge for at least and hour before serving. Can be made the day before and keeps well for leftovers 🙂

For my dad’s birthday I served this with balsamic marinated BBQ Lamb chops, Black Eyed Pea Salad and steamed Broccoli with Parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

